untitled poem – 7 july 1980

I’m “on” again in my on-again-off-again project of transcribing my poetry to computer.

There seems to be an aging process poetry goes through (fiction, also, truth be told) that means the further past it in time you get, the less valuable it becomes, but as I go through the notebooks that are glaciered into the corners of my office like time’s own detritus, I find one that I still want to read.

So, with that in mind, here’s an untitled poem from eons ago (to give you an idea how many eons, this is from the year that I was dating the girl who is now my wife, and our oldest is now beginning to lean on thirty):

boatwright
bookwright
cabinetmaker

cooper
glazer
architect

spinner
tinker
anvilmaker

woodcraftsman
ironsmith

 

cartwright
coachwright
bulletmaker

forger
founder
steeplejack

welder
weaver
buttonmaker

stonemason
tiresmith

 

gatewright
shipwright
candlemaker

tanner
potter
journeyman

fuller
barber
blanketmaker

technician
wiresmith

 

Technorati Tags:
Comments are closed.